Reading Suggestions for Families and Children

Family Read-Alouds

Brambleheart by Henry Cole

Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator by Roald Dahl

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

The Good Thieves by Katherine Rundell

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place by Maryrose Wood

Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling (Volume 1 of 2)

Lindbergh: the Tale of a Flying Mouse by Torben Kuhlmann

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

Missy Piggle-Wiggle and the Whatever Cure by Ann M. Martin (book one of series)

The Penderwicks: a summer tale of four sisters, two rabbits and a very interesting boy by Jeanne Birdsall (book one of series)

Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson

Rump: the True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff

The Star of Kazan by Eva Ibbotson

The Tale of Despereaux: being the story of a mouse, a princess, some soup, and a spool of thread by Kate DiCamillo

Tumtum & Nutmeg: Adventures Beyond Nutmouse Hall by Emily Bearn

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street by Karina Yan Glaser (book one of series)

Early Chapter Book Series in Juvenile Fiction

Adventures of Pug by Laura James

Agatha, Girl of Mystery by Steve Stevenson

Akimbo by Alexander McCall Smith

Animal Rescue Team by Sue Stauffacher

Ballpark Mysteries by David A. Kelly

Bink & Gollie by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee

Cam Jansen by David A. Adler

Clementine by Sara Pennypacker

George Brown, Class Clown by Nancy Krulik

Harriet Bean by Alexander McCall Smith

Ivy + Bean by Annie Barrows

Katie Kazoo, Switcheroo by Nancy Krulik

Lulu by Hilary McKay

The Masterpiece Adventures by Elise Broach

Mercy Watson by Kate DiCamillo

My Weird School Daze by Dan Gutman

Owl Diaries by Rebecca Elliott

Piper Green by Ellen Potter

Pony Tales by Bernadette Kelly

Princess Posey by Stephanie Greene

Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot by Dav Pilkey

The Secret Games of Maximus Todd by L. M. Nicodemo (dyslexic font)

Tales from Deckawoo Drive by Kate DiCamillo

Tales from the House of Bunnicula by James Howe

Three-Ring Rascals series by Kate Klise

Read-Alikes for Popular Series

Percy Jackson & the Olympians Read-Alikes

Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi

Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee

Sal & Gabi Break the Universe by Carlos Hernandez

The Fire Keeper: a Storm Runner novel by Jennifer Cervantes

Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by Kwame Mbalia

Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Read-Alikes

Amelia’s Notebook by Marissa Moss (book one of series)

Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce (book series and graphic series)

Dork Diaries by Rachel Renee Russell (series)

Knights vs. Dinosaurs by Matt Phelan (book one of series)

Middle School: The worst years of my life by James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts (book one of series)

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger (book one of series)

The Tapper Twins Go To War (with each other) by Geoff Rodkey

The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett (series)

The 13-Story Treehouse by Andy Griffiths (book one of series)