Adult Programs

Visiting the Beyond / Thursday, September 30, 7:00 p.m. Community Room

Have you ever wondered what the inside of a real haunted house looks like? This interactive and unique presentation shows you just that! Embark on a journey like no other, on a tour through some of the nation's most haunted locations - including abandoned hospitals, schools, asylums, homes, and more. Featuring original photography and deep history, presenter Curt Strutz leads a fun mix of storytelling, humor, and haunted experiences. Free to attend. No registration required.

Elm Grove Reads Presents: An Afternoon with Andrew J. Graff, author of Raft of Stars / Saturday, October 16, 1:00 p.m. O'Neill Room

In conjunction with the Friends of the Elm Grove Library and Boswell Books, the Elm Grove Library welcomes Andrew J. Graff, celebrating his warmhearted debut novel Raft of Stars, an instant classic for fans of Jane Smiley and Kitchens of the Great Midwest. When two hardscrabble young boys think they’ve committed a crime, they flee into the Northwoods of Wisconsin. Will the adults trying to find and protect them reach them before it’s too late?

Join us at the library for a discussion, reading, and signing of a book praised as "a rousing adventure yarn full of danger and heart and humor and characters worth worrying about.” (Richard Russo). Please register in advance for this event. Free to attend. Books will be available for sale.

Baseball's Winning Ways / Tuesday, October 19, 6:30 p.m. O'Neill Room

Touch the bases of baseball history and its high profile players with J.D. Thorne, author of the new book Baseball's Winning Ways. This presentation covers stories past and present, and ponders the future of America's Game, with a tour of baseball's origins, eras, leagues, teams, and statistics. Just in time for the World Series! Free to attend. No registration required.

Maximize Your Medicare Benefits / Wednesday, October 20, 1:00 p.m. O'Neill Room

Learn more about your Medicare options! This presentation will provide an overview of Medicare Parts A, B, C and D as well as supplemental insurance and an explanation of how they all fit together. The program will also include information about Medicare’s upcoming annual open enrollment period (October 15 –December 7) and an explanation of how to use and understand the plan comparison tool on Medicare’s website

Important information will be shared about special programs for Medicare beneficiaries with limited income that may help them pay their Medicare costs (Medicare Savings Plans) and also help pay for their Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage (“Extra Help”). Presented by Jennie Radmer, a Waukesha County Medicare Outreach Specialist, in association with GWAAR (Greater Wisconsin Agency on Aging Resources, Inc.).

Identity Theft: Protect and Prevent / Tuesday, November 2, 6:30 p.m. O'Neill Room

Identity theft continues to be the fastest growing crime in the United States. The more you learn about it, the less vulnerable you are, especially heading into the holiday season. In this seminar, you will learn the different types of identity theft and how to recognize and prevent them, including information about Fraud Alerts and Security Freezes. Receive tips for safeguarding personal information and how to spot the red flags of a scam. 

Presented by Francesca Johnson, Agency Liaison for the Bureau of Consumer Protection within the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.

The Wisconsin Story / Thursday, November 11, 7:00 p.m. Community Room

Learn about the events and people that shaped Wisconsin’s past. Author Dennis McCann will share stories from his book, The Wisconsin Story: 150 People, Places, and Turning Points that Shaped the Badger State and give us an answer to the question, “What makes Wisconsin, Wisconsin?” Free to attend. No registration required.

The Essential Christmas Carol /  Wednesday, December 1, 7:00 p.m. O'Neill Room 

Through storytelling and performance, author and entertainer William Pack will share the curious origins behind one of the most popular stories ever written. Then, using the 1867 Dickens’ script, Pack will perform an abridged reading of A Christmas Carol enhanced by a modern recreation of a magic lantern slideshow popular during Dickens’ lifetime. Free to attend. No registration required. 

Wisconsin Lumberjack Legends and Lore / Virtual Program Available On Demand

From Paul Bunyan to the Hodag, this program is filled with all of the Lumberjack traditions, superstitions, and legends. From tall tales of mysterious creatures lurking in the woods, boasts of supernatural feats, and every yarn in-between, this program celebrates our lumberjack history. Presented by Chad Lewis. Watch the program!